The long-awaited CECAFA Women Challenge Cup starts today in Kigali City, two days after all the participating nations landed in the country.

Hosts Rwanda, defending champions Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda and Ethiopia will spice up the Fifa-sponsored championship running from July 19 to 28 at Stade de Kigali.

On the opening day of the regional tournament-today afternoon, Kenya takes on Uganda at 14h00 while Rwanda will be up against reigning champions Tanzania at 16:30.

At the 2016 edition in Uganda, the last time the tourney was held, Rwanda never progressed from the group stage as they suffered two identical 3-2 defeats at the hands of Tanzania and finalists Ethiopia.

All matches will be broadcasted live on Azam TV.

The tournament will be played on a league basis, the team topping the table will be declared the winner.

CECAFA Women Challenge Cup 2018
Thursday, July 19
Kenya v Uganda – (Stade de Kigali, 14:00)
Rwanda v Tanzania Mainland – (Stade de Kigali, 16:30)

Friday, July 20: Rest Day

Saturday, July 21
Ethiopia v Uganda – (Stade de Kigali, 14:00)
Kenya v Tanzania – (Stade de Kigali, 16:30)

Sunday, July 22: Rest Day

Monday, July 23
Uganda v Tanzania – (Stade de Kigali, 14:00)
Rwanda v Ethiopia – (Stade de Kigali, 16:30)

Tuesday, July 24: Rest Day

Wednesday, July 25
Kenya v Ethiopia – (Stade de Kigali, 14:00)
Uganda v Rwanda – (Stade de Kigali, 16:30)

Thursday, July 26: Rest Day

Friday, July 27
Ethiopia v Tanzania – (Stade de Kigali, 14:00)
Rwanda v Kenya – (Stade de Kigali, 16:30)

The Express News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *